The hardest part about anything is starting. This is not news to anyone, of course. Commiting to things is sometimes a challenge. There is always the fear that you’ll fail. The fear that thing will overtake you and take on a life of its own. The fear that you’ll be successful and you’ll have to live up to thing you’ve created. This too, is not news.“It’s a dangerous business, Frodo, going out of your door,” Bilbo said.  “You step into the Road, and if you don’t keep your feet, there is no knowing where you might be swept off to.” (JRR Tolkien Fellowship of the Road)

With the start of this wee blog I have gone out of my door and I have no idea where the road will take me. I have ideas about where I want to go. I want to write and learn about ways to connect to the world, especially the natural world, around us. I want to talk about what it means to be connected. I want to write about things that are around me, like the nearly nightly flight of the Osprey who seek to roost in my neighbor. I want to write about how to get people, especially kids, outside, back into nature. I want to write about how to plant in your yard and neighborhood making it more inviting to critters like birds and butterflies and the like. These are a few of the things that I want to write about. I am sure that in my wanderings on the road I’ll be able to share about these things. I suspect that I will meet a few surprises as well.

I stalled for sometime on the start of this thing. But here I am. So off we go.

